Moguling Update

Posted by Pixelhead

Please see my first Moguling with Dotventures post for more info.

I came across Frank Gilroy’s Site Flipping post, which served as a reminder about a packet of papers I received at least a week ago from Dotventures and SearchMarketing LLC that require me to sign a “Legal Disclaimer” and a “Purchase and Limited Service Agreement”. I guess once I return these two items, my active services concerning learning to Flip Internet Real Estate or Moguling will begin.

Along with the two forms, I also received the company’s 2007 Prospectus which seems to be nothing more than a bit of advertising to persuade me to buy more Dotventures/SearchMarketing LLC services.

Diy-businessloans.com Certificate

Several days ago, we received a certificate in the mail that states that we are owners of the domain name www.diy-businessloans.com. This was quite surprising, because this name never came up when I talked with my Domain Specialist Robert Earl. At the conclusion of my phone call with Robert, I was under the impression that our domain name that we would receive was going to be Freedomainname-180.com. However, Lizzie had some reservations about this, because she thinks those free domain name sites are skeeve(googled the word Skeeve - Check out Skeeve.com…lol), so I called Robert back, and left a message to see if we could change it. I never received a call back, but apparently the domain did get changed. Lizzie says she is much happier with Diy-Businessloans.com than the freedomainename-180.com, but a phone call would have been the professional thing to do.
So today, I will be signing or having Lizzie sign the Dotventures/SearchMarketing LLC documents and will be placing them in the mail.

Written by Pixelhead on June 13th, 2007 with 6 comments.
Read more articles on Marketing and Moguling and SEM and SEO and Uncategorized

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

.

Related articles

6 comments

Read the comments left by other users below, or:

Get your own gravatar by visiting gravatar.com Matthew O’Brien
#1. June 15th, 2007, at 5:01 PM.

It looks like you are squared away with one of our Searchenhanced domain names. Your blog is impressive and it is clear that you have a good command of SEO. Searchmarketing is releaseing our new social media technology for blogging and I would like to get you in with the beta release. You can use the domain name you have with us and we can get you going with our $9.95 per month package and take our technology for a test drive. Our new site will be launched by the end of the month at http://www.Moguling.com and will offer services for businesses and individuals. The package you bought from us is going to be replaced with this new technology called, iReporter. You can reach me at 866.666.6838 with any questions. Regards - Matt O’Brien, CEO of Searchmarketing, LLC

Get your own gravatar by visiting gravatar.com Pixelhead
#2. June 15th, 2007, at 6:01 PM.

Thanks for both the phone call and the comment Matthew. I will be looking forward to participating in the Beta release of IReporter. Look forward to hearing from you in the next couple of weeks.

Get your own gravatar by visiting gravatar.com Misha
#3. February 24th, 2008, at 10:00 AM.

Dang… they try to sell to you in your own comments? On a blog they presumably didn’t hawk you? That doesn’t leave a bad taste in your mouth?

It seems like a matter to be addressed in email or on the phone, not public comments. But maybe it’s just me being cynical. Any further updates?

Get your own gravatar by visiting gravatar.com Pixelhead
#4. February 24th, 2008, at 1:25 PM.

I probably should do an update on these guys, but I really don’t want to give them anymore attention. Oh, I was finally going to do something with dyi-businessloans.com the other day, and went to transfer it over to my hosting company. I found out that it had expired. Searchmarketing goes in and registers a bunch of domains at one time. I am presuming they get a discount for bulk registrations. They then sell them to people like me who buy their freaking package for $99 and market it as a hot domain. The domain was registered in September06, it got transfered to me in June07. I thought I had a full year, but apparently I was mistaken.

Oh, and I did receive a phone call from Matthew who tried to up sell me to purchase a monthly package to participate in the beta of a new service.
My advice is to stay away from them.

Get your own gravatar by visiting gravatar.com Revolution of Reviews
#5. March 19th, 2008, at 11:43 AM.

sorry for my comment, but that certificate look suspicious to me.. is it really legit? photoshop have done a great result these days..

Get your own gravatar by visiting gravatar.com Pixelhead
#6. March 19th, 2008, at 1:17 PM.

I suppose it was legit, but that I had bought that domain name, but I bought what was left of a year long domain name registry. I suppose you can make a ton of dinero if you buy bulk domain names and then sell them to people as “potentially hot internet real estate”.

Appropriate Comments Welcomed

If you want to leave your comment on this article, simply fill out the form below. One link limit per comment and only if appropriate, and comments should be relevant. Please make sure you have read our Commentators guidelines.:




You can use these XHTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> .

NextNext